Sean McCann — New Music for Public Ensemble
Leila Bordreuil / Zach Rowden
Nicole Mitchell Black Earth Ensemble

Sean McCann. New music for public ensemble.

McCann was born in California in 1988 in a small beach town called Goleta. He now resides in Los Angeles. He has been publishing albums since 2007, utilising an array of instruments including violin, piano, & voice. His first fully realised album, Music for Private Ensemble (2013), found the artist multi-tracking and performing dozens of layers of instruments and sounds to form a one-man-orchestra. The logical followup album, Music for Public Ensemble (2016), lassoed in 30 other musicians to join and puzzle together a 2xLP of lush chamber works, choral pieces, & text-sound compositions.

For this performance, McCann will present a new work for a nine-piece ensemble including:

Sean McCann, voice & tapes
Johan Arrias, Clarinet
Leila Bordreuil, Cello
Christer Bothén, Bass Clarinet
Ville Bromander, Double Bass
Anna Lindal, Violin
Mariam Wallentin, Voice

Leila Bordreuil / Zach Rowden

Bordreuil/Rowden is Leila Bordreuil (US/FR) on cello and Zach Rowden (US) on contrabass. This duo acts as a culmination of the players diverse influences, ranging from harsh noise to spectral music and everything in between. Bordreuil/Rowden focuses on the abstract sonic possibilities of their respective instruments through extended technique and creative amplification methods, with a fierceness that takes forms as varied as grating noise-scapes and and low tranquil drones. They released Hollow, their debut album, on the excellent No Rent Records in May 2017, and have been extensively touring the US and Europe since then. For fans of Morton Feldman and Hijokaidan alike.

Leila Bordreuil is a Brooklyn-based cellist and composer working in the realm of improvisation, noise music, and sound art. The New York Times has described her work as “steadily scathing music, favoring long and corrosive atonalities”.

Bordreuil’s cello playing focuses on the inherent sonic qualities of her instrument, paying careful attention to timbre and texture. She challenges conventional cello practice through extreme extended techniques and imaginative amplification methods. Her composed works frequently incorporate sound-spatialization by way of site-specific pieces and multi-channel installations.

She has collaborated/performed with many artists such as Marina Rosenfeld, Eli Keszler, Nate Wooley, C. Spencer Yeh, Toshimaru Nakamura, Lee Ranaldo, Bill Nace, Weasel Walter and Lea Bertucci. Her work has been showcased at The Whitney Museum, MoMA PS1, The Kitchen, The Stone, Café Oto (London), All Ears Festival (Oslo), Ausland (Berlin), Ftarri (Tokyo) and many basements across the US. Leila Bordreuil is a 2017 MacDowell Fellow in Composition, was a visiting composer at the Royal Conservatory of the Hague (2017), and an artist-in-residence at Issue Project Room (2016).

Zach Rowden (USA) deals with the acoustic and performative possibilities of the upright/electric basses. He is a soloist in Iancu Dumitrescu and the late Ana Maria Avram’s Hyperion Ensemble. Current collaborators include Tyshawn Sorey, Paul Flaherty, Michael Foster’s The Ghost, Robert Black, Chris Cretella, Matt Sargent. Charmaine Lee and Gus Caldwell.

Venues that have welcomed him include Harpa (Reykjavik), Romanian Radio Hall (Bucharest), Cafe Oto (London), Heimathafen Neukölln (Berlin), Issue Project Room (New York), Firehouse 12 (New Haven), and Real Art Ways (Hartford).

Nicole Mitchell Black Earth Ensemble

The innovative, boundary-smashing work of Nicole Mitchell, whom Chicago Reader music critic Peter Margasak has hailed as the “greatest living flutist in jazz”, has contributed new life to Afrofuturism in the 21st Century. A voracious reader of science fiction since her youth (Afrofuturist author Octavia E. Butler in particular has exerted a heavy i

Framträdanden av Sean McCann — New Music for Public Ensemble, Leila Bordreuil / Zach Rowden, Nicole Mitchell Black Earth Ensemble, Sean McCann, Johan Arrias, Leila Bordreuil, Christer Bothén, Ville Bromander, Anna Lindal, Mariam Wallentin, avery r young, Kojiro Umezaki, Nicole Mitchell, Renée Baker, Tomeka Reid, Alex Wing, Tatsu Aoki, Jovia Armstrong